Altadena Now is published daily and will host archives of Timothy Rutt's Altadena blog and his later Altadena Point sites.

Altadena Now encourages solicitation of events information, news items, announcements, photographs and videos.

Please email to:

  • James Macpherson, Editor
  • Candice Merrill, Events
  • Megan Hole, Lifestyles
  • David Alvarado, Advertising
Archives Altadena Blog Altadena Archive

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Pasadena-Altadena Links Award Scholarships to PUSD High School Seniors

Photo credit: Victoria Williams

The Pasadena-Altadena Chapter of The Links, Incorporated recently awarded nine (9) Pasadena Unified School District (PUSD) high school seniors and 3 college students for a total of $24,000 as part of the organization’s Isaac McClelland Memorial Scholarship Program. Established in 1968, the scholarship was launched in memory of distinguished Los Angeles City Schools Area Superintendent, the late Isaac McClelland. The chapter has awarded over $545,000 in college scholarships to PUSD students.

The scholarships were awarded at an afternoon reception in Pasadena City College’s Creveling Lounge. Special guests included:

PUSD School Board Member, Elizabeth Pomoroy; PUSD Principals: Tim Sippel, John Muir High School; Mark Anderson, Marshall Fundamental; Maricela Brambila, Assistant Principal, Blair High School, members of The Pasadena-Altadena Links, Incorporated as well as proud family and teachers of the honored students. Scholarship recipients will be attending such notable institutions as UCLA, Wesleyan, UC Riverside, Barnard, Prairie View A&M, Norfolk State, and San Francisco State.

Michael B. Johnson, a foster student, used his melodic voice to guide the audience as they sang the Negro National Anthem, later passionately recounting how the scholarship will assist him as he enrolls in San Francisco State University this Fall.

PACEF (Pasadena Altadena Community Endowment Fund) provided two $5,000 scholarships, while memorial scholarships honored two dearly departed members of the chapter, Dr. Claudia Alexander and Mercedese Hervey with four $1,000 scholarships.

List of 2017 Scholarship Recipients:

2017 Scholar of Excellence Award – $2,000 awarded annually for four years
Isaiah A. Da Sylveira, John Marshall Secondary School

Distinguished Scholar Award – $1,500
Amaya M. Binns, John Marshall Secondary School

Dr. Claudia Alexander Memorial Scholarship – STEM Designation $1,000 each
Michael B. Johnson, Blair High School
Arreah T. Wilson, Pasadena High School

Mercedese Hervey Memorial Scholarship – $1,000 each
Emon M. Dolly Davis, John Muir High School
Lauryn C. Miller, John Muir High School

PACEF Scholar Award – $5,000
Elise A. Logan, Pasadena High School
Ulani E. Mafate, John Muir High School

Guy Johnson Book Award – $500
Laurnz E. Powell, John Muir High School

Continuing Scholars of Excellence – $2,000 each awarded annual for four years
Mai Lin Graves, UCLA
Logan Patton, UCLA
Briana Salmon, UC Berkeley

The Links, Incorporated is an international, not-for-profit corporation, established in 1946. The membership consists of 14,000 professional women of color in 274 chapters located in 42 states, the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of the Bahamas. Chartered in 1963, the Pasadena-Altadena Chapter of The Links has served the community for over 50 years with programs focused on cultural, educational and civic affairs. More information about the chapter can be found at







blog comments powered by Disqus